Dragonling~ Chapter Three

Dawn broke over the mountains and as soon as the first ray of light appeared Trinari was away and bent over the fire, adding wood to it. Once the fire was burning merrily She placed the pot with the left over food back on to heat.

“Good morning.” Kevven said startling her and he apologised quickly “Sorry.”

“It’s fine,” Trinari straightened from her crouch and dug in the pouch looking thing she had taken from one of the houses at the base of the mountain and pulled out the long thing she had picked up to mix the food last night. “What is this?” She held it out to Kevven.

“That is a ladle, here, you sit down I will fix breakfast and maybe some tea if you stole some.” He took the ladle giving her a slight look of reproach, Sticking the spoon in with the reheating food he dug through the bag. “Yes, you have taken some tea and a kettle, that’s good.”

Trinari watched as Kevven pulled the things he named from the pouch and set to work, as his back was turned Trinari looked at him closely, his hair close to his scalp was black, however the rest of his hair was white, there were longer pieces of black then the front. He was taller then her, Trinari remembered the times she helped him stand up, and his eyes were a dark brown colour and slanted up at the sides. Kevven turned and Trinari noticed that his nose was small and flat.

She had seen her reflection in the still water of the mountain pools to know what her mother had said about her to be true, unlike the round face of Kevven her own was a little pointed, she had round green eyes, long wild dark brown hair that came down to her bare feet.

“Is there something wrong?” Kevven asked and Trinari blushed looking down.

“I was just wondering.” She hesitated took a deep breath and continued, “Why were the humans after you? I saw something about a woman… I need to know why my family was killed!”

Kevven took a step back before quickly jumping forward again as he had stepped into the fire. Muttering a cures he spun, filled the bowls and passed on to Trinari and sat down gingerly next to her. “It is a long story…”

We have time. Came Takanori’s voice from far away.

“Very well then, it starts three years ago when my mother died, my father was broken… he had lost his will to live when he lost mother. My sisters and I could only do so much to alleviate the pain, and after six months he started talking again.” he ate for a moment in silence as Trinari did the same, her eyes not leaving his face. “Then our lives turned upside down, a woman came. She was short, average looking, but my father saw someone to take our mothers place. He said she was the most beautiful woman he had ever seen and the next day they were married. She was all smiles on the outside for the first few months to us and everyone who was against her. But when father fell ill those who spoke out against her slowly vanished.

“I didn’t know what to do, father was too ill to attend court, my sisters and I were all to young to sit in on the meetings so she stood as reagent until father got better or I reached maturity. However a week after father had signed the papers he was murdered by that cold hearted witch and she made it look like I had killed him.” Kevven finished his food, took the used bowls and began cleaning them out. As he rubbed the sand into the bowl he continued what was left of his story, “I found out through one of the guards who was on my side that she was planning on coming after me, he helped me get out of there and together we ran. Two weeks into our journey we ran into her guards, they killed him. Somehow I managed to get away, I remember pain, darkness and then I woke up to see you.”

About Talena

I love to write. no matter what it is ^.^ View all posts by Talena

One response to “Dragonling~ Chapter Three

Leave a comment